Where does love go to die?

There’s a place love goes to die

It’s buried somewhere deep inside

I can’t find it in the shallow depths of my heart

It’s filled with sadness from my darkened past

There’s a place love goes to die

And there’s nothing I can do

Except watch it slip by

I shouted and pleaded and twisted in vain

I cried and prayed to a godless name

The last few moments, love shuddered in pain

There’s a place love goes to die

And try as I might

It can’t be revived

I gave it my final breath

and I felt the floor beneath me turn cold and wet.

There’s a place love goes to die

It’s a lost cause to try and find

I kept it close to my heart,

But, my love, you’ve died inside.

Leave a Reply

