Lost in translation takes a new meaning

There are many words in foreign languages that are lacking in English. For instance, Pelinti (Buli, Ghana).
when you bite into a piece of piping hot apple pie and right before you realise that that was a huuuuuge mistake, and you end up looking like a blowfish because you’re trying to cool and move around the molten hot lava in your mouth? That’s called Pelinti, a word the Ghanaians created for twits like myself. It literally means “to move hot food around in your mouth.”

I wonder if there’s a word that will aptly describe the jumble of emotions that courses through a traveler’s first solo trip. Mine is nothing short of trepidation and excitement. My brain has also decided to shut down because of the tumultuous emotions; too much conflict for one brain to handle. In a fortuitous change of events, I am so much closer to fulfilling one of my bucket list goals, but I definitely did not see it coming this quick. I’m not exactly prepared. I feel much better typing this out. I know no one reads this, but if you’re out there, and you’re reading this, I hope you won’t judge me too much. I’m excited, scared, anxious and slightly unprepared. I get lost in Mustafa, ok? (it’s a shopping centre…)

This is all quite surreal, and guano is about to hit the ceiling when I reach Narita and happily board the Shinkansen for Kyoto instead of Hokkaido. Ohshitwrongtimetopanic.  What’s the worst that can happen right? Breathe, Jaisree Jessica, breathe. I may find myself by getting lost. I just hope I don’t get so lost that I miss the train. 

2 thoughts on “Lost in translation takes a new meaning

  1. There’s no shame in getting lost in Mustafa! It also means you get to see some pretty cool stuff that you wouldn’t have otherwise seen on your way back to where you were supposed to be going 🙂 In other words, you’ll be fine. Besides, the Japanese are so polite and friendly that help is always a stranger away 😀

  2. Hi Andrew! You know I’ve surprised myself so far – I only missed one single train from Narita. And you’re very right, help is really just a stranger away =D

Leave a Reply

